Wells Fargo's Checking Account Lineup and Monthly Fees

Wells Fargo offers checking accounts, but whether one is free depends on which account you open and what you do with it. The bank's main checking products—Everyday Checking, Premier Checking, and Attune Checking—all carry a monthly maintenance fee unless you meet specific conditions to waive it.

Everyday Checking costs $10 per month. You can waive this fee by maintaining a minimum daily balance of $500, setting up direct deposit, or keeping an active Wells Fargo savings or money market account linked to your checking. Premier Checking runs $25 monthly and requires either a $5,000 minimum daily balance or a may have access to direct deposit to waive the fee. Attune Checking, designed for customers under 25, costs $5 per month and waives the fee with a $500 minimum daily balance or direct deposit.

The catch is that "free" at Wells Fargo means meeting one of these conditions consistently. If your balance drops below the threshold or your direct deposit stops, the monthly fee kicks in the next statement cycle.

Key Takeaways

  • Wells Fargo's checking accounts charge monthly fees ($5 to $25) that can be waived through minimum balance requirements, direct deposit, or linked savings accounts.
  • Everyday Checking requires either $500 minimum daily balance, direct deposit, or a linked savings account to avoid the $10 monthly fee.
  • Direct deposit is often the easiest waiver path because it requires no ongoing balance maintenance and works across all three account types.
  • If you fall below the minimum balance or lose direct deposit, the monthly fee will appear on your next statement.

How Direct Deposit Works as a Fee Waiver

Direct deposit is the most reliable way to waive Wells Fargo checking fees because it requires no balance threshold. Any recurring deposit from an employer, government agency, or other source counts—Social Security, pension payments, and payroll all may have access to.

The deposit must post to your account at least once per statement cycle. Wells Fargo's statement cycles run monthly, so you need one may have access to deposit every 30 days or so. Once direct deposit is set up, the fee waiver applies automatically; you do not need to do anything else.

This matters because maintaining a $500 or $5,000 minimum balance can be difficult if you live paycheck to paycheck. Direct deposit removes that burden entirely.

The Minimum Balance Route and What Happens When You Dip Below It

If direct deposit is not an option, the minimum daily balance is the alternative. For Everyday Checking, Wells Fargo looks at your lowest balance on any single day during the statement period. If it drops below $500 even once, you owe the $10 fee that month.

This is stricter than some banks, which calculate an average balance instead. A single large withdrawal—medical expense, car repair, emergency—can trigger the fee even if your balance recovers the next day. Premier Checking's $5,000 threshold makes this even riskier for most people.

Wells Fargo does not notify you in advance that you have fallen below the threshold. The fee appears on your statement after the fact. If you are relying on the balance waiver, you need to monitor your account actively throughout each month.

Linked Savings Accounts as a Fee Waiver Option

Everyday Checking also waives its $10 fee if you maintain an active Wells Fargo savings or money market account linked to the same customer profile. "Active" means the account must be open; Wells Fargo does not specify a minimum balance requirement for the savings account itself, only that it exists and is in good standing.

This option works if you already save with Wells Fargo or are willing to open a savings account. The savings account does not need to earn much—Wells Fargo's savings rates are typically low—but it does need to stay open. If you close the savings account, the checking fee waiver disappears.

This is less flexible than direct deposit because it ties you to maintaining two accounts, but it can work if you are already banking with Wells Fargo for other reasons.

Comparing Wells Fargo to Banks with Truly Free Checking

Many online banks and credit unions offer checking with no monthly fee and no conditions attached. Ally Bank, Charles Schwab, and Discover Bank all offer no-fee checking with no minimum balance. Some credit unions waive fees for members regardless of balance or deposit history.

The trade-off is usually branch access. Wells Fargo has physical locations nationwide; online banks do not. If you need to deposit cash, use an ATM frequently, or prefer in-person service, Wells Fargo's fee structure might be worth the cost. If you primarily bank online and can meet one of the waiver conditions, the fee is avoidable.

Before opening a Wells Fargo account, compare what you actually use. If you receive direct deposit, the fee is effectively zero. If you do not and cannot maintain the minimum balance, a no-fee alternative may save you $120 per year.

What Counts as Direct Deposit at Wells Fargo

Wells Fargo accepts direct deposits from employers, the Social Security Administration, the Department of Veterans Affairs, state unemployment offices, and most government agencies. Payroll deposits, pension payments, and benefit payments all may have access to.

Transfers you initiate yourself—moving money from another bank account to Wells Fargo—do not count as direct deposit. The deposit must originate from an outside source that pushes money into your account on a recurring schedule. A one-time transfer or a single government payment may not trigger the waiver if it is not part of a regular pattern.

If you are unsure whether your specific income source qualifies, Wells Fargo's customer service can confirm before you open the account. This is worth verifying because the fee waiver depends on it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I waive the Wells Fargo checking fee with a savings account if I have no money in it?

Yes. The linked savings account waiver for Everyday Checking requires the account to be open and active, but Wells Fargo does not specify a minimum balance. You can open a savings account with $1 and keep it there. The checking fee waives as long as the savings account remains open.

What happens if my direct deposit stops?

The fee waiver ends. If direct deposit was your only waiver method and it stops, the monthly fee will appear on your next statement. You would then need to either restart direct deposit, meet the minimum balance requirement, or link a savings account to avoid future fees.

Does Wells Fargo charge fees for overdrafts or other services?

Yes. Wells Fargo charges overdraft fees (currently $35 per overdraft transaction, up to three per day) and other fees for services like wire transfers, stop payments, and account research. The monthly maintenance fee is separate from these. Avoiding overdrafts requires active balance monitoring.

Can I waive the fee on multiple checking accounts at once?

No. The waiver conditions explore per account. If you have two Wells Fargo checking accounts, you need to meet the waiver condition for each one separately. A single direct deposit or linked savings account waives the fee on only one checking account.

Is Wells Fargo's Attune Checking actually free for young adults?

It has a $5 monthly fee that waives with a $500 minimum balance or direct deposit, the same as other accounts. It is not free outright, but the fee is lower and the balance threshold is lower than Everyday Checking. If you are under 25 and receive direct deposit, the fee is effectively zero.